• Thursday, December 13, 2018
  • 79°
FEATURED
Wendell "Mason" Young / State Official
Published On December 28th, 2014
A former state Department of Land and Natural Resources administrator who served the people of Hawaii for 28 years has died at age 71. Wendell ...
RON KLOHS / 1951-2014
Published On December 2nd, 2014
Isle radio broadcaster sported ‘golden ears’ John Berger / jberger@staradvertiser.com Ron Klohs, known to Hawaii radio audiences for more than 20 years as The Real ...
Gus Furumoto: 1927-2014
Published On November 22nd, 2014
UH scientist’s tsunami work helped predict risks to isles By Michael Tsai A pioneer in the field of tsunami research, Augustine "Gus" Furumoto devoted his career ...
ETHEL BOLTER MURPHY / 1912-2014
Published On November 8th, 2014
Mainland transplant started and helmed business magazine By Rosemarie Bernardo / rbernardo@staradvertiser.com Ethel Bolter Murphy, who co-founded Hawaii Business magazine, described as the oldest regional ...
PUANANI KANEMURA VANDORPE / 1933-2014
Published On November 5th, 2014
'Living treasure' helped to revive kapa-making Timothy Hurley / thurley@staradvertiser.com Puanani Kanemura VanDorpe, who helped revive the ancient Hawaiian art of kapa cloth making and ...
Mike Rosenberg: 1947-2014
Published On November 3rd, 2014
Former KITV president valued public service, Hawaii community By Erika Engle Retired KITV President and General Manager Mike Rosenberg worked at the network television level in ...
JACKIE WARD / 1919 – 2014
Published On November 1st, 2014
The festival organizer led music gatherings in her Kaimuki home By Gary T. Kubota /gkubota@staradvertiser.com Her free and private musical gatherings in the loft of ...
ELIZABETH HOUSE / 1957-2014
Published On October 4th, 2014
Newswoman possessed skill and moxie to spare By Michael Tsai / mtsai@staradvertiser.com A member of the University of North Carolina-Greensboro Athletics Hall of Fame and ...
Don Dymond: 1946-2014
Published On October 3rd, 2014
Kailua businessman was 'a mentor to many' Don Dymond was known for his insistence on doing the right thing and mentoring young people. He is ...
Atsuo Miura: 1929-2014
Published On September 19th, 2014
Army veteran honored with Distinguished Service Cross By Gary T. Kubota Atsuo "Aji" Miura, a Maui resident who received a Distinguished Service Cross for gallantry ...
CARL CROSIER / 1945-2014
Published On September 3rd, 2014
Authenticity fueled beloved church musician’s work By Steven Mark / smark@staradvertiser.com Carl Crosier, who developed the music program at Lutheran Church of Honolulu into one of ...
Murray Turnbull: 1919-2014
Published On September 1st, 2014
East-West Center founder devoted to education, art By Michael Tsai A gifted artist and educator, Murray Turnbull left a distinctive mark on the physical landscape ...
EDWARD "SKIPPA"DIAZ / 1944-2014
Published On August 31st, 2014
'Bull of Kalihi' inspired many both on and off football fields Dave Reardon / Dreardon@staradveriser.com "The Bull of Kalihi" was much more than that, and ...
ZANE SCHLEMMER / 1924-2013
Published On August 31st, 2014
Kaneohe resident honored for D-Day actions in France Timothy Hurley / Thurley@staradvertiser.com Zane Schlemmer was honored time and again for his heroic World War II ...
BOB HERKES / 1931 – 2014
Published On August 22nd, 2014
Isle politician showed ‘fierce dedication’ to Hawaii island By Leila Fujimori / lfujimori@staradvertiser.com Hawaii island politician Bob Herkes served 23 years in public office, advocating for ...
FLORENCE REMATA / 1938-2014
Published On August 12th, 2014
Franciscan sister, Kauai native served decades as educator Pat Gee / pgee@staradvertiser.com Sister Florence Remata, minister of the Hawaii-Southwest region of the Sisters of St. ...
Alan Kang: 1944-2014
Published On August 11th, 2014
‘Unsung hero’ helped create Wahine volleyball By Cindy Luis Before the Hawaii women's volleyball program became one of the imposing towers on the sport's intercollegiate ...
ADVERTISEMENT